adventures in geekdom

The blog of a twentysomething who is finally unleashing her inner geek after stifling it for the majority of her adolescence.

Yes, I still love these games. SUE ME.

One geeky thing I started over break that I forgot to mention in my last post is reading The Myst Reader. The boyfriend got it for me as a Christmas present in 2010, and I’m an awful girlfriend because I’ve only just now started to read it. :X

If you played the Myst games and were totally confused about the storyline or you just want to know more, The Myst Reader is a collection of three novels written by the original creators of the games. Each book covers either what happened before Myst and after Riven. The Book of Atrus is about Atrus’ upbringing by his grandmother Anna, and how he is discovered by and becomes an apprentice for his father Gehn and later retaliates against him and Gehn’s irresponsible methods for writing linking books. The Book of Ti’ana is about the woman Ti’ana/Anna, the first human to ever venture into the D’ni world and how she single-handedly destroyed their universe. (You think they’d put this one before The Book of Atrus, since Ti’ana/Anna’s story precedes Atrus’, but I digress.) The Book of D’ni describes the events after the second game in the series, Riven, and Atrus’ attempts to rebuilt the D’ni civilization and make up for the damage his sons and father caused.

I finished The Book of Atrus over break and have started on The Book of Ti’ana, though that will probably have to wait until this semester is over. (SO. MUCH. READING. OMG.) Still, I was extremely impressed by the first book and while it could’ve used a better editing job, it was intriguing and was perfectly tied in with the opening of Myst which brought back a ton of nostalgia. According to Wikipedia, fans have been given the blessing by Cyan (the creators of Myst, Riven, and Myst V: End of Ages) to turn The Book of Ti’ana into a film, and I honestly can’t wait for it. Unless it sucks.

Myst was my very first video game ever (if you don’t count the original Oregon Trail), and it’s been great to have some extra backstory on the D’ni and the characters we come to know throughout the rest of the games. I’d still love to know more about Sirrus and Achenar’s misadventures, so hopefully a book on that is in the future, but for now these books are more than enough. I just wish I had more time to finish it!

Until next time, keep calm and geek on. 8)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

