adventures in geekdom

The blog of a twentysomething who is finally unleashing her inner geek after stifling it for the majority of her adolescence.

read it first

Okay, don’t get too excited that I’ve updated three days in a row. I’ve just had some extra time on my hands this weekend; it won’t be long before more papers and required readings rain down on me.

Speaking of reading, are you like me in that you hate when people see the movies before reading the book it’s based on (if they even read the book at all)? I especially get that way about the Harry Potter series; someone once said to me that they were “too lazy” to read the books, and I’m like “OH HALE NO.”

Also, I can’t tell you how many movies I’ve seen where I didn’t know it had originally been based on a book. That’s entirely my fault for not researching it, but now there’s a way to encourage people (and yourselves) to read the book first, and find out what new movies coming out are based on books. Yay!

I present to you: READIT1ST.COM! Developed by Hank Green of EcoGeek and the vlogbrothers, you only need enter your name and email address and voilà, you’ve taken the pledge and will receive the newsletter about which new movies are based on books! There are also buttons where you can tweet or make a Facebook post about your pledge, and to encourage others to do the same.

So for all of my fellow book purists, the answer to our prayers is here! Go check it out now at READIT1ST.COM. :D

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

