adventures in geekdom

The blog of a twentysomething who is finally unleashing her inner geek after stifling it for the majority of her adolescence.

star wars/affiliates

So I finished Return of the Jedi yesterday, and I may have teared up a bit. Maybe.

Overall, I’m really happy that I’ve now seen all of the movies in this wonderful film series. George Lucas did a kick-ass job with the original trilogy, and I don’t really hate the prequel movies as much since I know the end result is so awesome. (Kinda like the Harry Potter film series. Great as a whole, even if there’s certain films THAT SHALL NOT BE NAMED that I don’t care for.) I’m learning not to beat myself up too hard over not having seen these films before this year, because 1) that’d be going against the point of this blog, and 2) it doesn’t matter when I saw the films, but that I’ve seen them and enjoyed them at some point in my life. That’s what’s important! And honestly, I don’t think I would’ve truly appreciated them had I watched them all the way through when I was younger. (Up until now I’d only seen bits and pieces of the original trilogy and The Phantom Menace.)

I will say, it was extremely jarring seeing Hayden Christensen appear at the very end of Return of the Jedi, and even though I understand why they wanted to tie everything back in with the prequel trilogy…it just didn’t feel right. When discussing it with The Boyfriend, he made a great point that I wholeheartedly agree with: they should’ve left the original actor in, because it would’ve represented how Anakin would’ve aged had he not been corrupted by the dark side. Having young Anakin there was just really off-putting in an otherwise amazing ending.

On a different note, I wanted to draw your attention to my lovely links/affiliates page. These are blogs that have affiliated with me, or who don’t know my own blog exists but I like theirs a lot. You should probably check them out, because they’re all nerdy and awesome and I want to show them a little love today. :)

Thanks again for reading and showing support for my little blog. I truly appreciate every page view, and don’t ever be afraid to comment! I’d love to hear from all of you!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

