adventures in geekdom

The blog of a twentysomething who is finally unleashing her inner geek after stifling it for the majority of her adolescence.

general update

Oh, hey there! Yeah, I took a brief hiatus for the summer because, well…it’s more fun to blog when you’re procrastinating. Not when you’re spending all of your free time having fun, and I didn’t want people to think I’d forgotten about my lovely little project here since I’d really only been reblogging stuff. Still, I’m (tentatively) back — we’ll see how crazy this upcoming semester gets. ;)

So, updates on all of the fun nerdy things I’ve been up to this summer!:

pottermore I finally got to cross some things off of my nerdy bucket list this summer, and this is one of them: be first in line for a geeky/nerdy event! Okay, maybe I wasn’t standing in an actual line, but I am one of the lucky one million fans who get to beta test J.K. Rowling’s new website Pottermore. However, once beta testing starts it’s against Pottermore’s Terms & Services to screencap and post anything about the site, so updates on that may be on hold until the site opens to all in October 2011. I don’t want to risk losing my beta account!

wizard rock I also was able to cross off my bucket list goal of attending five wizard rock concerts! Of course, I’ll continue to try and see any wizard rock band that plays out here, but five seemed like a good number at the time. The Boyfriend was a trooper and went with me to see not only Harry and the Potters, but also The Contour featuring various nerdy/wizard rock musicians from YouTube. It was a blast!

magic: the gathering Sadly, still not many updates here. I bought a booster pack not too long ago, though I still need to go through my deck and see if anything I got from it will fit in well with my red/blue deck.

lego harry potter: years 1-4 While waiting for Pottermore beta spots to open, I started playing this again after quite a long absence. I’ve currently made my way through all of the story modes, and am now going back and free playing each level to snag all of the bonus features. I’ve also found all of the bonus features within Hogwarts itself, so I’m currently sitting at 81.7% completion. :)

renaissance faire I attended my very first Ren Faire with The Boyfriend and various accomplices, which was a ton of fun (even if walking around in the heat wasn’t). We didn’t dress up for the occasion, but I did get to ride a camel!

star wars The Boyfriend and I started watching the prequel trilogy about a week ago, and I’ll let you all know my thoughts on that in a separate post. We’re now ready to start the original trilogy, so that’s another bucket list item I’ll be able to cross off soon!

I’m still fixing up my nerdy/geeky bucket list, and certain list items will change as I start to complete them (e.g., “Play World of Warcraft” might change into “Reach level 10 in World of Warcraft” once I actually do start playing). So make sure you keep checking that out to see how I’m doing, and feel free to suggest anything else I should add to the list! I’m always looking for suggestions. :)

I actually gained some followers during my brief hiatus (whut?), so…hi new readers! Thanks for following, and I hope you’ll stick around as I continue my journey into the depths of geekdom!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

