adventures in geekdom

The blog of a twentysomething who is finally unleashing her inner geek after stifling it for the majority of her adolescence.

lego harry potter: years 1-4

After my last post I decided to continue past the Tom Riddle glitch and play through the rest of the story, even if meant not being able to reach 100% completion. (The Boyfriend, being a significantly more competitive gamer than I, was appalled at my decision. xD) I, however, figured I could play through all of the story and become more familiar with each level, making it easier when I start a new game with 100% completion in mind.

So yesterday I finished Year 4, and I have to say that I’ve been really impressed by the difficulty of this game…except the final boss battle with Lord Voldemort. Beforehand I was freaking out because I assumed I’d need my entire arsenal of spells against him (not unlike the maze in the third Triwizard task level), but was disappointed that all I had to do was Expelliarmus a few Death Eaters and press B repeatedly to enact Priori Incantatem. I thought it’d take more than just button-mashing to defeat the greatest dark wizard of all time! Of course, The Boyfriend reminded me that this game was also marketed at kids, not just adults, and if Warner Bros. made it too difficult to finish they’d be S.O.L. So there’s that.

As of today, I’m on a new game of Lego HP hoping to reach 100% completion. And since I’m on spring break this week, here’s hoping I can get it done in a relatively short amount of time! (Because, naturally, I still have homework over break. Of course, reading Forged in Battle: The Civil War Alliance of Black Soldiers and White Officers isn’t exactly “homework” so much as fun. /historygeek)

And if you haven’t yet, please go watch Hank Green (accompanied by his wife, Katherine) play Lego HP. They are hilarious, and it gives you a great look at the game if you haven’t seen/played it yet. :)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

