adventures in geekdom

The blog of a twentysomething who is finally unleashing her inner geek after stifling it for the majority of her adolescence.

lego harry potter: years 1-4

When I last posted about my progress, I had just started Year 2. After posting I returned to the game and made it to the “Tom Riddle’s Diary” level. I was becoming frustrated with certain quests and was having trouble figuring some things out, so I saved the game where it was and left it for another day.

I ended up taking a few days off from playing the game in order to finish up some schoolwork so I’d have less to do over my upcoming spring break, until today when I decided to resume gameplay. As I selected “Continue Story”, something odd happened. The game did not take me back to Moaning Myrtle’s bathroom, but to Hagrid’s Hut and to the level directly after the Tom Riddle level, “Follow the Spiders”.

Scratching my head in confusion, I finished the spiders level (which freaked me the hell out because OMG GIANT SPIDERS DNW!!! D:), saved and returned to The Leaky Cauldron. I looked and looked for the Tom Riddle level, and lo and behold…it wasn’t anywhere to be found.

Still utterly confused, I turned to Google. I had run into the (apparently infamous) “Tom Riddle Glitch” where if you exit the level for any reason, even if you save your game, the level and all access to it will disappear and you will never be able to reach 100% completion without starting the game completely over. And there’s no repairing (Reparo-ing) it. You’ll still be able to play through the story, but you won’t be able to complete every quest (Student in Peril, House Crest, etc.) that comes with each level in order to fully complete the game because you’re missing a full level.

And of course, it’s a Wii-only glitch. (Yes, hardcore Xboxers and PS3ers, I can hear your yelling and jeering through the internet.)

I don’t know what to do. I’d like to reach 100% completion eventually, but should I just go ahead and continue with the story until I can’t go any further or just start all over and make sure not to skip that level for any reason whatsoever?

*sigh*

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “lego harry potter: years 1-4

  1. It’s very effortless to find out any matter on net
    as compared to textbooks, as I found this article at this website.

Leave a Reply

