adventures in geekdom

The blog of a twentysomething who is finally unleashing her inner geek after stifling it for the majority of her adolescence.

nintendo wii

I’ve decided to start posting once a week, because that’s the pattern I seem to be in at the moment. xD I’m going to save my update about Magic: The Gathering for next week, because I am far too excited about my belated Christmas present to myself to talk about anything else: a black Nintendo Wii!

I know, I know. I can already hear the screams from the hardcore gamers. “The Wii sucks!” “The Xbox Kinect is a million times better!” “The only thing a Wii is good for is to be beaten with a baseball bat in an open field!” (One of my Facebook friends commented on my status with that last one.)

Here’s the thing: I’ve never really been a (video) “gamer”, and not because I was in the geek closet for so long, either. Sure, I love playing the occasional round of Rock Band or Guitar Hero at a friend’s house but honestly, I’d be wasting my money if I bought a PS3 or an Xbox 360. I’m just not that serious about video games to warrant the purchase of one of those consoles. However, the Wii has always piqued my interest because it’s so family-friendly, and great to use with friends. That’s what I like the most about gaming to me: having fun with friends.

So, how’d this all come about? Well, I received a pretty handsome amount of money for Christmas from my only living grandparent, and had been contemplating upgrading to a new gaming console for a while. Up until yesterday, the only gaming console we’d ever had in our house (not including my sister’s Nintendo DS) was a PlayStation. Yep, a good ol’ fashioned, original PS1.

Ain’t it a beauty? All we ever played on it was Toy Story 2: Buzz Lightyear to the Rescue, Rugrats: Studio Tour, Frogger, and I played a horse racing game by the name of Gallop Racer. Anyway, I’ve had my eye on the Wii for over a year after our neighbors got one and I kept making excuses to hang out at their place in order to play games on it, but I tried to convince myself I didn’t need it. However, once Santa brought The Boyfriend and his family a red Wii this year and I played some games on it, I stopped pretending like I didn’t want one. I did. Like, a lot.

So I bring this up to my mom, whose eyes immediately light up and she says, “Oh, wow! A Wii sounds fun! [Our neighbors] have a Wii, I like the bowling game on theirs! You should use your Christmas money to buy a Wii!” (Basically, it took a lot of convincing.)

We (well, technically *I*) went with a Wii bundle, which included the following:

We also ordered an extra black controller with nunchuck, and Wii Fit Plus with the Wii balance board, which I love so far. I definitely plan on using it regularly, and my arms are already killing me from playing Wii Sports and Wii Sports Resort so much. Oops?

So far my wishlist for games is pretty small (Wii Party and LEGO Harry Potter Years 1-4), but if you have any suggestions for games, feel free to let me know!

I hope everyone had a great holiday, and I’ll see you all next week. :)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

