adventures in geekdom

The blog of a twentysomething who is finally unleashing her inner geek after stifling it for the majority of her adolescence.

magic: the gathering

Okay, so the weekend before finals probably wasn’t the greatest time to start a new internet project. But who cares about that? I now have a grand total of 8 followers! Most of whom I already know in real life! *throws confetti*

But in all honesty, thanks to everyone who’s following adventures in geekdom so far. I really appreciate it, and it motivates me to continue writing about my geeky exploits. :)

So, onto my first blog topic! I’m really excited about this one. It’s Magic: The Gathering! I was introduced to this game through the nerd band ALL CAPS when they made a vlog about going to a MTG draft. It piqued my interest, so I immediately text The Boyfriend and asked if he’d ever heard of this game. He had (I should have known, *facepalm*), and mentioned that he only had a gazillion cards left from when he used to play with his dad. Score!

After The Boyfriend taught me the basics, we set out to build our decks from all of his cards. I went with a blue deck because I thought the blue looked pretty, which was a very big mistake on my part. (I really need to break my attraction to “shiny things”, it’s probably going to get me into big trouble someday.) However, I found that using a blue deck straight out of the gate was pretty overwhelming because of the specifics of each card. It was difficult for me as a n00b beginner to grasp what I could and couldn’t do and how to make certain combos work, and I was getting frustrated. Fast.

To remedy my frustration, The Boyfriend and I set out to his favorite gaming store to pick me up an Intro Pack. Basically, each Intro Pack contains a ready-to-play 60-card deck featuring a 15-card booster pack. After looking at all of the different options, The Boyfriend and I decided on:

Yes, a red deck with some blue worked into it. The Boyfriend felt that it’d be a little easier for me to learn how to play the basic game with a deck that was 1) meant to be played with straight out of the box, and 2) really good at blowing shit up and dealing damage rather than focusing on counter-attacks and spells, which I can focus on when I’ve got the basics down. (I actually get a small taste of that from the few blue cards I have in this Intro Deck, which is nice.)

Once I opened my Intro Pack and started playing against The Boyfriend, we were both pretty stunned as to how good the deck was. I didn’t think an Intro Pack for any kind of card game would have resulted in such a great deck, and I didn’t get stuck with basic, generalized cards like I initially imagined I would. I also got some pretty awesome cards in the accompanying Booster Pack, so overall I’m pretty stoked.

So far, I’m pretty happy about MTG. Not only is The Boyfriend excited about playing again, but one of his friends has decided to get back into it and bought an Intro Pack himself (I believe he went with the blue and white deck), so I might actually be able to join in with the guys for a gaming session every now and again. :)

That’s it for now. As I mentioned above, I have finals coming up so I wouldn’t expect any new posts until later this week. (If I do post something, I give you all permission to poke and pester me as needed to quit procrastinating and to get back to work!)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

